Excursions & camps

All the guided excursions will be on monday 12.08.2019!
“Beatushöhlen ausgebauter Teil”, “Schafloch und Bunker (Justistal)” und “Tropfloch” can be visited individually.

All guided tours have some special points to consider:

  • The congress organizers reserve the right to reject registrations for tours at any time if it is not clear that the participant is up to the requirements of the planned tour. In this case we will suggest an alternative if possible.
  • The instructions of the tour guides must be followed at all times – as well as the recommendations of the SGH regarding cave protection and safety (Safe-Speleo).
  • The tour guides know about the respective cave and any special dangers and it is their competence to stop a tour at any time.
  • Changes to the excursion registration/deregistration to exkursionen@sinterlaken.ch

Camps

Gstepf - Date: 3rd – 9th August 2019 Description: The area of exploration lies south of Lake Brienz between Giessbach and the ridge of the Schwabhorn, which forms the border to the Sägistal. The area is mainly at an altitude between 1800 and 2200 m a.s.l.
Sägistal - Date 3rd – 9th August 2019 Description The Sägistal is a karst area in the Alpine mountains on an altitude between 1900 and 2400 m. More than 400, mainly smaller, caves are known; the largest objects are mostly shaft caves, with lengths up to 2500 m and depths up to 490 m.
Siebenhengste-Sommerlager - Date: 13th – 17th August 2019 Description: Focus of this camp are exploring and prospecting under and on the surface of the limestone pavement of the Siebenhengste at almost 2000 m a.s.l.

Special excursions:

Bat excursion Excursions, Other - This excursion will take place on Sunday 11th August! Bats probably rank among the most known cave-animals. But mostly they are to be found there only sleeping. On this excursion you will learn more about the way of life and peculiarities of bats.

Easy excursions:

Bärenloch Easy, Excursions - A typical cave with an arch gate as taken from the picture-book. It is worth to visit for either young or older people. The cave offers easy climbing and afterwards you can take a short walk and you might visit an alpine cheese diary.
Bärenschacht altes BI Easy, Excursions - Visit the entry area up to the former bivouac “I” on approx. -100m. This tour offers wonderful, big and well equipped shafts ideal for a training!
Beatushöhlen ausgebauter Teil Easy, Excursions - Visit of the showcave part of the Beatus-Cave!
Beatushöhlen Sprengsiphon Easy, Excursions - Behind the touristic part you will find wonderful passages with a creek and several padding pools coated with flowstone deposits. They are accessible beyond the “Beiz” up to the Sprengsiphon.
Beatushöhlen to ‘Beiz’ Easy, Excursions - Behind the touristic part of the St Beatus Caves you will find wonderful passages with a creek and several padding pools coated with flowstone deposits. This trip will go as far as the place called “Beiz”.
Festung Waldbrand Easy, Excursions - The fortress museum Waldbrand in Beatenberg was one of the largest artillery factories of the Swiss army. The impressive facility was designed for a 450 men garrison!
Fitzlischacht Easy, Excursions - This is a simple pit cave with vandose shafts,  chambers and beautiful Montmilch-deposits.
Geologische Exkursion Holaub Easy, Excursions - On the hike, the Karrenfeld in Holaub, east of Hohgant, is visited.
Geologische Exkursion Siebenhengste oder Innerbergli Easy, Excursions - On this walking tour everything is offered: various karst forms and phenomena, fossils, insights into the formation of rocks, tectonics… depending on the visitors’ knowledge level and need. And don’t forget to enjoy the spectacular view of the Bernese Alps.
Haglätsch Easy, Excursions - After an approximately one-hour hike to the cave entrance you pass a couple of short and narrow shafts until you reach beautiful and huge corridors. “Against this cave, our good old Beatushöhle consists only of little creeks and pools”.
Mundentalhöhle – “nostalgic” trip Easy, Excursions - Walking tour through the magical Traubachtal to a small horizontal cave well suited for children and others not afraid of one narrow passage at the entrance.
Schafloch + Bunker (Justistal) Easy, Excursions - The Schafloch is a relict of a giant natural cave passage. It was expanded during the second World War. Along the military tunnel you can walk through the mountain up to the former observation post.
Siebenhengste Glacière Easy, Excursions - Impressive fossil collector – directly underneath the surface. If you are lucky there will be some ice…
Tropfloch Easy, Excursions - A panoramic hike at the bottom of the Siebenhengste followed by a visit of the endless labyrinth of alleys in the Hohgant-Sandstone. No worry – at the end you all will find the way out of it!
Waldheimhöhle Easy, Excursions - A nice karst cave reached alongside fissures up to the shafts in the back. Additionally, the cave offers climbing possibilities.

Medium excursions:

Geltenbachhöhle Excursions, Medium - Ein eindrücklicher Aufstieg an einem 70 m Seil dient als Zustieg zum Höhleneingang. Der Ausblick ins wilde Gasterntal ist gigantisch.
Häliloch Excursions, Medium - After a nice hike with a view of the Bernese Alps, you can descend directly into the impressive 100m deep daylight-shaft.
Hohlaub Frostloch / E2 Excursions, Medium - From a beautiful entrance shaft the tour leads through a meander, whose continuation is still sought …
K2 Lieferanteneingang Excursions, Medium - Small-scale confusing labyrinth with climbing posts and few shafts. The entry is easy to reach which is in a beautiful surrounding close to a natural bridge.
Senkloch – F1 Biwak Excursions, Medium - This sportive trip takes you through the beautiful entrance part of the Senkloch followed by several crawling parts and more pitches to the connection of the two caves…from there it’s a short walk to the bivouac. Difficulty & character: medium, C2 Duration of the tour: 5 hours Equipment: SRT Max. participants: 5
Zone Profonde Termites Australes Excursions, Medium - Short walk, afterwards a 200m shaft-section “Frustration” – down to the huge fossil collector “Termites Australes”.

Difficult excursions:

Bärenschacht Stollen Difficult, Excursions - Descent via the entire “old” Bärenschacht down to the former terminal siphon on -545m with a visit to the artificial surroinding of the siphon (tunnel).
Faustloch 80er Difficult, Excursions - A tour to the legendary Faustloch on the Chromatte: creeps and wet shafts up to the big shaft.
Faustloch B1 Difficult, Excursions - A tour to the legendary Faustloch: wet shafts, slippery meander, fossil passages with stalactites up to the B1 or even further to the Belgierfrust. A question remains: is it accessible?
Senkloch – F1 (Dröhnland) Difficult, Excursions - This sportive trip takes you through the beautiful entrance part of the Senkloch followed by several crawling parts and more pitches to the connection of the two caves…from there it’s a short walk to the bivouac. After a short rest we continue through huge, partly collapsed passages to the >200m high Dröhnlandschlot.
Siebenhengste CCC2 Difficult, Excursions - Entrance to the “Réseau”, which is a horizontal sandstone cave in the first part and it changes its character further on when you reach the limestone (Schrattenkalk)!
Traverse Z15 -> Z49 Difficult, Excursions - After an approximately one-hour panoramic hike, the tour leads through the entrance of the Z15 into the impressive shaft zone of the Z49.
Zone Profonde Salle Topographe Difficult, Excursions - This tour leads through shaft-section “Frustration” followed by a roundtrip through the “Zone Profonde” of the “Réseau Siebenhengste” to the impressive Salle Topograph.

Diving excursions:

Bätterich (Diving) diving, Excursions - Together with the “Gelben Brunnen” the Bätterich is the most important resource of the HRH-Region and is the most dived resurgence in the lake Thun.

Excursions & camps

Toutes les excursions guidés partiront lundi 12.08.2019!
“Beatushöhlen ausgebauter Teil”, “Schafloch und Bunker (Justistal)” und “Tropfloch” peuvent être visités individuellement.

Toutes les visites guidées ont des points particuliers à considérer :

  • L’organisation du congrès se réserve le droit de refuser à tout moment une inscription à une visite guidée s’il n’est pas certain que le participant est à la hauteur des exigences de la visite prévue. Dans ce cas, nous vous proposerons une alternative si possible.
  • Les instructions des guides doivent être respectées en tout temps – ainsi que les recommandations du SSS concernant la protection et la sécurité dans les grottes (Safe-Speleo).
  • Les guides connaissent la grotte concernée et les dangers particuliers qu’elle présente, et il leur appartient de s’y arrêter à tout moment.
  • Modifications  à l’inscription ou désinscription a exkursionen@sinterlaken.ch

Camps

Gstepf - Date : Du 3 au 9 août 2019 Description: La zone de la recherche se situe au sud du lac de Brienz, entre Gießbach et la ligne de crête du Schwabhorn, qui constitue la frontière avec le Sägistal. Nous sommes principalement à une altitude entre 1800 et 2200 m.
Sägistal - Date : du 3 au 9 août 2019 Description: Le Sägistal est une région karstique située dans les montagnes, entre 1900 et 2400 m d’altitude. Plus de 400 grottes, pour la plupart petites, sont connues ; les objets les plus grands sont surtout des grottes de puits, avec des longueurs allant jusqu’à 2500 m et …
Siebenhengste-Sommerlager - Dates: 13 au 17 août 2019 Description: camp d’exploration et de prospection sous et sur le lapiaz des Siebenhengste qui culmine à près de 2000 m.

Excursions spéciales :

Sortie de chauve-souris Autres, Excursions - Cette excursion aura lieu le dimanche 11 août ! Les chauves-souris comptent probablement parmi les animaux des cavernes les plus connus. Mais la plupart du temps, on ne les trouve qu’en train de dormir. Au cours de cette excursion, vous en apprendrez davantage sur le mode de vie et les particularités des chauves-souris.

Excursions faciles:

Bärenloch Excursions, Facile - Grotte typique avec un porche pour carte postale. Excursion pour tous les âges. La cavité offre un peu d’escalade facile. La courte balade qui suit peut être couplée avec la visite d’une fromagerie d’alpage.
Bärenschacht altes BI Excursions, Facile - Visite de la zone d’entrée jusqu’à l’ancien bivouac ”I” à environ -100 m. Cette excursion offre des beaux grands puits bien équipés idéaux pour l’entraînement aux verticales.
Beatushöhlen ausgebauter Teil Excursions, Facile - Visite de la partie aménagée des grottes de Saint-Béat !
Beatushöhlen jusqu’à la ‘Beiz’ Excursions, Facile - Derrière la partie aménagée des Grottes de Saint Béatus se trouvent des magnifiques galeries avec un cours d’eau entrecoupé de bassins à patauger et beaucoup de concrétionnement. Vous irez jusqu’à la ”Beiz”.
Beatushöhlen Sprengsiphon Excursions, Facile - Derrière la partie aménagée des grottes de Saint-Béat se trouvent des magnifiques galeries avec un cours d’eau entrecoupé de bassins à patauger et beaucoup de concrétionnement. Vous dépasserez le ”Bistrot” pour atteindre le siphon désobstrué.
Festung Waldbrand Excursions, Facile - Le musée de la fortification de Waldbrand à Beatenberg était un des plus grand ouvrage d’artillerie de l’armée suisse. L’impressionnante installation était équipée pour 450 personnes!
Fitzlischacht Excursions, Facile - Gouffre facile avec des puits, des salles d’effondrement et de beaux dépôts de mondmilch.
Geologische Exkursion Holaub Excursions, Facile - Au cours de la randonnée, on visite le Karrenfeld à Holaub, à l’est du Hohgant.
Geologische Exkursion Siebenhengste oder Innerbergli Excursions, Facile - Cette randonnée propose de tout: diverses formes et phénomèmes karstiques, fossiles, genèse des roches, âge des formations, tectonique, etc., selon les besoins et connaissances des participants. Sans oublier la belle vue sur les Alpes bernoises.
Haglätsch Excursions, Facile - Après une randonnée d’en gros une heure jusqu’à l’entrée, on atteint par quelques puits étroits des grosses et belles galeries.
Mundentalhöhle – sortie “nostalgique” Excursions, Facile - Randonnée dans le vallon enchanteur du Traubachtal jusqu’à une grotte bien adaptées aux enfants et à tous ceux qui osent franchir une étroiture.
Schafloch + Bunker (Justistal) Excursions, Facile - Le Schafloch est une relique d’une énorme galerie naturelle. Lors de la 2e guerre mondiale, l’armée l’a aménagée. Aujourd’hui on peut encore traverser toute la montagne par la galerie militaire pour se promener de l’autre côté jusqu’à l’ancien poste d’observation.
Siebenhengste Glacière Excursions, Facile - Collecteur proche de la surface. Avec de la chance, de la glace pourrait subsister.
Tropfloch Excursions, Facile - Randonnée avec beau panorama au pied des Sieben Hengste couplée à la visite de l’interminable labyrinthe dans les grès. Tout le monde finira par ressortir!
Waldheimhöhle Excursions, Facile - Jolie cavité karstique le long de fissures menant à des puits. Le cheminement offre un peu d’escalade.

Excursions difficulté moyenne:

Geltenbachhöhle Excursions, Moyenne - Une impressionnante montée sur corde sert d’accès au porche d’entrée. La vue sur le sauvage Gasterntal est saisissante.
Häliloch Excursions, Moyenne - Une jolie randonnée avec vue sur les Alpes bernoises amène à l’impressionnant puits de surface de 100 m qu’il ne reste plus qu’à descendre.
Hohlaub Frostloch / E2 Excursions, Moyenne - Après un beau puits d’entrée, l’excursion mène dans un méandre dont la suite se laisse encore désirer…
K2 Lieferanteneingang Excursions, Moyenne - Labyrinthe exigu avec des pas d’escalade et peu de puits. L’entrée est facile d’accès et se trouve dans un bel environnement à proximité d’une arche naturelle.
Senkloch – F1 Biwak Excursions, Moyenne - Cette sortie sportive vous mènera via la jolie zone de puits du Senkloch et ensuite par plusieurs rampages et quatre-pattes au sommet d’un P60  et finalement vers la jonction des deux cavités…de là c’est une balade jusqu’au bivouac du F1.
Zone Profonde Termites Australes Excursions, Moyenne - Courte marche d’approche suivie de la zone de puits de 200 m de la Frustration menant dans le grand collecteur fossile des Termites Australes.

Excursions difficiles:

Bärenschacht Stollen Difficile, Excursions - Descente de toute l’ancienne partie de la Bärenschaht jusqu’au siphon terminal de l’époque et visite de la galerie artificielle de contournement.
Faustloch 80er Difficile, Excursions - Excursion dans le légendaire Faustloch à la Chromatte: reptations, puis verticales arrosées dans les grès jusqu’au grand puits.
Faustloch B1 Difficile, Excursions - Excursion dans le légendaire Faustloch à la Chromatte: puits arrosés, méandre glissant, puis galeries fossiles jusqu’au B1, voire plus loin jusqu’au Belgierfrust. Ce dernier est-il ouvert?
Senkloch – F1 (Dröhnland) Difficile, Excursions - Cette sortie sportive vous mènera via la jolie zone de puits du Senkloch et ensuite par plusieurs rampages et quatre-pattes au sommet d’un P60 et finalement vers la jonction des deux cavités…de là c’est une balade jusqu’au bivouac du F1. Après une petite pause on continuera dans des grandes galeries partiellement effondrées jusqu’à l’imposante cheminée …
Siebenhengste CCC2 Difficile, Excursions - Entrée du “Réseau” commençant par une grotte dans les grès et qui change abruptement de caractère en atteignant le calcaire!
Traverse Z15 -> Z49 Difficile, Excursions - Après une randonnée d’en gros une heure avec une belle vue, l’excursion passe par l’entrée du Z15 pour déboucher dans l’impressionnante zone de puits du Z49.
Zone Profonde Salle Topographe Difficile, Excursions - L’excursion passe également par la zone de puits de la Frustration. Ensuite, elle décrit une boucle dans la Zone Profonde du Réseau des Sieben Hengste jusqu’à l’impressionnante Salle des Topographes.

Excursions plongées:

Bätterich (Plonger) Excursions, plongée - Avec le ”Gelberbrunnen”, ”Bätterich” forme la principale source de la région HRH et c’est la résurgence la plus plongée du Lac de Thoune.